How to care about people

Anna Mercury
9 min readNov 6, 2018
Photo by Daniil Kuželev on Unsplash

People in general don’t grow up being taught how to care for each other — how to receive each other’s feelings, how to hold space for each other, how to make others feel cared for, how to meet our own emotional needs and assist others to meet theirs in mutual aid. So, as someone who really, deeply prioritizes giving care to others, and has been told time and again that I’m pretty good at it, I’m offering a free lesson.

First, I was not born knowing how to care for people. I’m still learning, and I still screw it up a lot of the time. But I want to hit home the point that this is something I’ve learned how to do because I’ve actively tried to. I’ve made learning how to care for people well a priority, because I believe it is the most important thing I can do. I know it is, because I’ve felt firsthand the pain of not feeling cared about by the people in my life over and over and over again, and seen on more macro- levels how a lack of centering care at all levels of social relationships leads to brutality around the world.

So, without further ado, I’ve written you all a lesson.

Step 1: Don’t have people in your life that you don’t care about.

This is so obvious that I laugh at even having to say it, but it’s actually something not all people understand, or do. I forget it all the…

--

--

Anna Mercury

Animist anarchist, trying to write a new world with the ashes of the old | www.allgodsnomasters.com